Looney Toons

I can see where hits came from for this site if a link was followed (say from my Facebook status or something). So I was curious when I saw a few from the MySpace music page of The 2nd St. Rag Stompers (one of the good bands I saw busking at the festival in Seattle). Their new profile pic is the one I took of them and put up here! I’ll invoice them when they are on CDUK.

I just rang my Great Auntie Katie before (who I don’t think I’ve ever met, unless I was a wee nipper at the time) as she lives in a town called Ajax about half an hour away from Toronto. I’m nipping up to see her on Monday. The reason I’ve come to have distant Canadian relatives is that my Grandad’s (from Glasgow) 2 sisters emigrated from Scotland many moons ago.

Today I stayed true to my MO and just wandered about to see what I came across. Nothing amazing but a decent enough city, there’d be worse places to live anyway. Barnsley is the first that comes to mind.

The most interesting area that I stumbled upon was Kensington Market which is pretty similar to Camden Market. Loads of good vintage shops, but what an effort it is to go through all the gear. If you have the stomach for it there are cheap gems everywhere, stuff that would go for double in the equivalent shops of Blighty.

All I bought was a t-shirt from an independent design place, 10 Canadian dollars which is less than 6 quid. Bargain.

Speaking of Canadian money I’m so glad they don’t have dollar bills like in The States, those things used to get me in a right tizz at counters the country over! They call their 1 dollar coins ‘loonies’ and their 2 dollar coins ‘toonies’, strange folk that they are.

I’m not sure what’s happening tonight. I’ll just hang about the hostel for a while and see if anything interesting is going on, this is one of the difficult bits about travelling solo. If not I might head down to the flicks (sad I know) as after watching about 250 films in around 18 months I’ve only watched about 4 in the last 2 (2 of them on the plane over!). Being at the matinĂ©e the other day made me realise how much I have missed my movies.

It’s a bit of a poor show from myself (though I blame Toronto) on the photo front as I didn’t really find anything worthy today. Below is a table hockey game in a Niagara Falls arcade that I sadly couldn’t play on my own. It’s the same as the one that brought so much joy in San Fran. I declare that I will own one of these at some point in my life.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Looney Toons”

  1. Nic Bowen Says:

    There has been many moments that i have wished so much that i could b there with you, but i think that meeting Great Aunty Katie is the one i am most envious of! I didnt even know i had a had a Great Aunty Katie! Like i said b4, ur living the dream 4 the both of us! U are inspireing Dan! Love u loads! Xx

  2. Dan Bowen Says:

    Thanks Boach. I’ll say hello from you too!

  3. scott Says:

    When Canada first switched over to the dollar coins, there was a bird, the Loon, on one side of it. The nickname “loonie” quickly caught on.
    A few years after , they introduced the 2 dollar coin and it became known as a two-nie, or toonie and that stuck as well.

    The bubble hockey game is fantastic….

  4. Dan Bowen Says:

    Ta for the info mate, all is revealed!

    I could murder a game of table hockey now :-)

  5. Camden Market Says:

    Thanks for making this post, Camden Market has lots to offer every type of visitor, and it’s what makes it one of the city’s!the capital’s premier tourist magnets.

  6. Dan Bowen Says:

    Nae bother.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

